Liz Cooper’s albums, POD among this week’s top picks

Welcome to Seven in Seven, where each week we usually take a look at upcoming gigs in the area. With most shows on hold due to the pandemic, here’s a look at seven of the best albums coming out on September 3:

Liz Cooper – “Hot Sass”

Acclaimed singer, songwriter and musician Liz Cooper’s new record follows her 2018 debut full-length album, “Window Flowers,” which received widespread acclaim across the board. Originally from Baltimore and now based in Brooklyn, she has continued to tour regularly since her debut, performing alongside artists such as Dr. Dog, Shakey Graves, Bermuda Triangle, Lord Huron and Phosphorescent as well as performing at various festivals. Through the 12 new songs, Cooper comes into his own – both musically and as a person – embracing a new sense of honesty, maturity and creativity.

POD – “Satellite 20th Anniversary”

Two decades ago, POD released their fourth studio album, “Satellite,” a triple-platinum hit that remains the hard rock band’s best-selling album. To celebrate the record’s 20th anniversary, the San Diego-based band are releasing a new remastered version of the record, which has been supplemented with rare and previously unreleased music. Available on double CD and digitally this week – with double vinyl on October 8, the 28-song collection features a new remastered version of the original album, along with a selection of rarities, remixes and four previously unreleased demos, including ” Alive (Semi-acoustic version).

Suuns – “The Witness”

“The Witness” marks a cleverly offbeat left-hand turn for Montreal rock group Suuns, showing them at their most comfortable and candid state. Self-recorded and self-produced for the majority of 2020, a year of conflict, loneliness and reflection, the LP finds the band holding a magnifying glass to their own default playing and performance state. It’s a quick departure from the previous album, “Felt”, and sees the band harvesting ideas haphazardly from their embryonic and demo releases, as if launching glorious fireworks into the ether.

The Hawkins – “The Sequel”

The Hawkins’ rock ‘n’ roll spirit is showcased in slightly darkened undertones on their new mini album – an EP for the rest of us – ‘The Aftermath’. The band’s highly dynamic and offbeat take on gender is performed with an underlying sense of restrained anger, angst and apprehension. Experimental and bolder than before, the six move from explosive bursts of energy to quieter acoustic parts with manic episodes in between.

Fair Visions – “Modern Children”

Brooklyn-based post-punk outfit Fair Visions deliver six varied tracks on “Modern Kids,” which form the second half of a statement begun with their debut, “A Way Out,” released amid gloom and disintegration. from 2020. The EP embraces darkness with a Pandora-like curiosity, introducing a wide chromatic rainbow of hooks and textures, from piano, stomp and fuzz to spectral background vocals and breakdowns. of acid house. Both tight and sprawling, Fair Visions has never seemed more complex in its channeling of the heady dance lineage of New York New Wave.

Portrait – “Being One With None”

When it comes to modern heavy metal, few bands operate on the same level as Portrait. For a decade and a half, Swedish Unity has charted its own course, and in the process brought a long-established genre to life and taken it in new directions. Their latest album, “At One With None”, sees the band held to an undeniably high standard that shines through at every turn, as they push each other and refuse to let go until one song is perfect. Lyrically, the record focuses on spirituality, actuality, and the question of what is truth in existence; heavy stuff backed by even heavier riffs.

Jenna Kyle – “Ojos”

Jenna Kyle’s “Ojos” EP represents a new era for the Los Angeles-based singer/songwriter, producer and live electronic artist, who has actively left her mark as one of the top two percent of female music producers in the world. industry. The music is heavily influenced by his travels over the past few years and his long-time partnership and collaboration with Brazilian/Argentinian drummer Bruno Esrubilsky (Mitski, Hedwig and The Angry Inch), who has contributed to a forward-looking sound. world and an influx of Spanish musicians. and Portuguese lyrics.

Sound check

• Liz Cooper, “Feel Good”
• POD, “Alive (semi-acoustic version)”
• Suuns, “Witness Protection”
• The Hawkins, “Svääng”
• Fair Visions, “Modern Children”
• Portrait, “Phantom Fathomer”
• Jenna Kyle, “Tell Me”


This story was updated September 1 to correct Liz Cooper’s album name, which was misnamed in an earlier version.

George L. Hernandez